Department of the Premier

Contact details

Physical: Provincial Legislature Building, 1st Floor, 15 Wale Street, Cape Town
Postal: PO Box 659, Cape Town, 8000
Tel: 0860 142 142
Fax: 021 483 4715


The mission of the Western Cape Department of the Premier is to embed good governance and enable integrated service delivery throughout the Western Cape through partnerships, innovation and people excellence.

In line with the Western Cape Government Provincial Strategic Goal 5: 'Embed good governance and integrated service delivery through partnerships and spatial alignment', the Department of the Premier aims to enable strategic decision-making and stakeholder management by the Premier, Cabinet Ministers and Heads of Department; enable service delivery excellence across departments to the Western Cape through technology, processes and people; and improve good governance in the Western Cape Government.

Office Bearers

Ms H Zille
Director General
Adv B Gerber
Director General
Mr A Joemat

Ms Helen Zille
Director General:
Adv Brent Gerber
Mr AF Joemat (Superintendent General: Corporate Services)
Deputy Directors General:
Mr L Buter (Legal Services)
Mr LH Grootboom (Executive Support)
Mr MA Hendrickse (People Management)
Dr LF Platzky (Provincial Strategic Management)
Ms H Robson (Corporate Assurance)
Mr LR Williams (E-Innovation)
Senior Management:
Mr Jamie Ryan-Turkington (Strategic Communication)
Mr Robert Shaw (Strategic Office Support: DG)
Ms Faiza Steyn (Corporate Communications)
Communications Officers:
Mr Michael Mpofu (Media Liaison Officer)
Portia Percival (Corporate Communication)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a1 351 326906 093747 981
Actual Expendituren/a1 042 874894 537747 165
Employee Compensationn/a448 541400 434378 098
Goods and Servicesn/a510 018421 347324 223
Capital Assetsn/a58 24238 98622 097
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a3 6627 3972 782
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a849336
Posts Approvedn/a1 1191 0031 126
Posts Filledn/a1 058873883
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
National Department of Transport
Telkom - Business Connexion
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd
Motheo TVET College