Provincial Legislature

Contact details

Physical: 7 Wale Street, Cape Town
Postal: PO Box 648, Cape Town, 8000
Tel: 021 487 1600
Fax: 021 487 1696


The vision of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament is a modern parliament serving the people of the Western Cape in accordance with the principles of an open opportunity society, promoting excellence, individual choice, dignity and responsibility. Its mission is to be an institution committed to providing quality procedural and administrative support to enable Members to fulfil their constitutional functions and to facilitate public involvement in its activities.

The Western Cape Provincial Parliament's strategic goals are: procedural and related support to the House and committees to conduct their business of making laws and performing oversight effectively; corporate support to Members and staff to perform their duties effectively; promotion of optimal public participation in parliamentary processes; and promotion of sound administrative support to ensure organisational efficiency.

Office Bearers

Ms S Fernandez
Deputy Speaker
Mr P Pretorius

Ms Sharna Fernandez (DA)
Deputy Speaker:
Mr Piet Pretorius (DA)
Ms Carol Beerwinkel (ANC)
Ms Lorraine Botha (DA)
Mr Anton Bredell (DA) (MEC)
Mr Ferlon Christians (ACDP)
Ms Sharon Davids (ANC)
Ms Trudy Dijana (ANC)
Mr Cameron Dugmore (ANC)
Mr Richard Dyantyi (ANC)
Mr Marius Fransman (ANC) (Leader: ANC)
Mr Albert Fritz (DA) (MEC)
Ms Maurencia Gillion (ANC)
Ms Dorothea Gopie (ANC)
Mr Donald Grant (DA) (MEC)
Mr Nceba Hinana (DA)
Mr Bernard Joseph (EFF)
Mr Denis Joseph (DA) (Deputy Chief Whip)
Mr Basil Kivedo (DA)
Ms Pat Lekker (ANC)
Mr Rodney Lentit (DA)
Mr Ricardo Mackenzie (DA)
Mr Bonginkosi Madikizela (DA) (MEC)
Mr Khaya Magaxa (ANC)
Ms Pholisa Makeleni (ANC)
Ms Anroux Marais (DA) (MEC)
Ms Matlhodi Maseko (DA)
Mr Lennit Max (DA)
Ms Nomafrench Mbombo (DA) (MEC)
Mr Ivan Meyer (DA) (MEC)
Mr Daylin Mitchell (DA)
Mr Masizole Mnqasela (DA)
Mr Theo Olivier (ANC)
Mr Daniel Plato (DA) (MEC)
Ms Beverley Schäfer (DA)
Ms Debbie Schäfer (DA) (MEC)
Mr Siyazi Tyatyam (ANC)
Mr Pierré Uys (ANC)
Ms Mireille Wenger (DA)
Mr Mark Wiley (DA) (Chief Whip)
Mr Alan Winde (DA) (MEC)
Ms Helen Zille (DA) (Premier)
Dr Gilbert Lawrence
Communications Officers:
Mr James Retief

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a151 388137 675127 514
Actual Expendituren/a144 669135 291122 553
Employee Compensationn/a80 59071 42532 033
Goods and Servicesn/a23 30027 82424 642
Capital Assetsn/a2 1102 0352 612
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a-151322
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a-35
Posts Approvedn/a109106100
Posts Filledn/a10110597
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd
South African Institute of Chartered Accountants