Department: Provincial Treasury

Contact details

Physical: 3rd Floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town, 8000
Postal: Private Bag X9165, Cape Town, 8000
Tel: 021 483 4237
Fax: 021 483 3855


The vision of the Western Cape Provincial Treasury is good governance through financial accountability. Its mission is to improve governance through enhancing accountability and oversight; creating public value; enabling delivery of quality service through partnerships; and capacity building in public sector finance.

The Treasury’s strategic outcome-orientated goals are: efficient and effective departmental governance support services; effective, efficient and sustainable management of provincial and municipal fiscal resources; financial system, supply chain and moveable asset governance within the provincial and municipal spheres; and accountability through the review of financial reporting of departments, entities and municipalities, and compliance with financial norms and standards.

Office Bearers

Dr I Meyer
Head of Department
Mr Z Hoosain

Dr Ivan Meyer (Minister)
Head of Department:
Mr Zakariya Hoosain
Mr A Gildenhuys
Deputy Directors General:
Mr A Hardien (Governance and Asset Management)
Mr H Malila (Fiscal and Economic Services)
Chief Directors:
Ms J Gantana (Provincial Government Public Finance)
Ms M Korsten (Public Policy Services)
Mr I Smith (Asset Management)
Mr B Vink (Financial Governance and Accounting)
Ms A Smit (Strategic and Operational Management Support)
Senior Management:
Adv E Pretorius (Head of Ministry)
Communications Officers:
Mr E Steenkamp-Cairns

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a442 066345 321164 962
Actual Expendituren/a232 148199 967162 283
Employee Compensationn/a137 911125 299107 182
Goods and Servicesn/a55 13247 48339 870
Capital Assetsn/a3 7784 3593 075
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a2 0979849
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a6125
Posts Approvedn/a328326323
Posts Filledn/a282282270
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Public Entities

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa
International Pre-University College
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd