Eastern Cape Rural Development Agency (ECRDA)

Contact details

Physical: Unit 12D, Beacon Bay Crossing, Cnr N2 & Bonza Bay Road, Beacon Bay, East London, 5201
Postal: Postnet Suite 385, Private Bag X9063, East London, 5200
Tel: 043 703 6300
Fax: 086 273 5417
Web: www.ecrda.co.za
Email: info@ecrda.co.za


The Eastern Cape Rural Development Agency (ECRDA) is a schedule 3 (c) entity in terms of the Public Finance Management Act (PFMA). ECRDA has dedicated focus on formulating, promoting and ensuring the implementation of a comprehensive integrated rural development strategy for the Eastern Cape province.

The vision of the ECRDA is a leading and vibrant organisation that improves livelihoods and develops sustainable rural communities in the Eastern Cape province. The ECRDA’s mission is to accelerate implementation of identified high-impact priority rural development programmes and unlock dormant potential of resources through partnerships, with the communities as the centre of operation.

The Entity’s strategic objectives are to promote, support and facilitate rural development in the province by: mobilising financial resources and providing financial and supportive services to persons domiciled, ordinarily resident or carrying on business; promoting and encouraging private sector investment in the province and the participation of the private sector in contributing to economic growth; promoting, assisting and encouraging the development of the province's human resources and financial infrastructure, in association with other institutions having similar or related objectives; acting as the government's agent for performing any development-related tasks and responsibilities that the government considers may be more efficiently or effectively performed by a corporate entity; driving and coordinating integrated programmes of rural development, land reform and agrarian transformation; project managing rural development interventions; promoting applied research and innovative technologies for rural development; planning, monitoring and evaluating rural development; and facilitating the participation of the private sector and community organisations in rural development programmes.

Office Bearers

Dr Vanguard Mkhosana
Deputy Chairperson:
Ms Fezeka Mkile
Board Members:
Mr Xolile George
Mr Thozamile Gwanya (CEO)
Mr Vuyani Jarana
Ms Bongiwe Kali
Mr Abraham le Roux
Mr Sabatha Mbalekwa
Mr Mpumelelo Ncwadi
Mr Cornelius Pieterson
Ms Zanele Semane
Mr Mbulelo Sogoni
Mr Thozamile Gwanya
Ms Janine Baxter
Navy Simukonda
Senior Management:
Mr Gcobani Ntshanga (Strategy Manager)
Communications Officers:
NobaTembu Pako (PR and Communications Manager)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Current Assetsn/a209 445196 679210 634
Non-Current Assetsn/a55 76245 27641 885
Total Assetsn/a265 208241 956252 519
Current Liabilitiesn/a90 90191 301107 039
Non-Current Liabilitiesn/a14 70918 73618 506
Total Liabilitiesn/a105 610110 037125 545
Total Net Assetsn/a159 597131 919126 974
Total Revenuen/a298 334187 796202 946
Revenue from Exchange Transactionsn/a77 85144 06330 687
Revenue from Non-Exchange Transactionsn/a220 483143 733172 259
Total Expendituren/a(265 450)(183 009)(173 751)
Employee Related costsn/a(66 470)(57 041)(55 524)
Surplus/(Deficit) for Yearn/a30 8744 78727 958
Net Cash Flows from Operating Activitiesn/a24 63025 430(23 690)
Net Cash Flows from Investing Activitiesn/a(28 944)(4 868)(2 833)
Cash & Cash Equivalents at End of Yearn/a104 653108 06387 407
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a6 296952964
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a-138306
Posts Approvedn/a161n/an/a
Posts Filledn/a140136137
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report


The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at info@provincialgovernment.co.za so that we can correct them.
International Pre-University College
South African Institute of Chartered Accountants
National Department of Transport
Free State Department of Public Works & Infrastructure
Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd