Western Cape Destination Marketing, Investment and Trade Promotion Agency (WESGRO)

Contact details

Physical: 18th Floor, Reserve Bank Building, 60 St George's Mall, Cape Town, 8001
Postal: PO Box 1678, Cape Town, 8000
Tel: 021 487 8600
Fax: 021 422 0479
Web: www.wesgro.co.za
Email: info@wesgro.co.za


The vision of Wesgro, the Western Cape’s Tourism, Trade and Investment Promotion Agency, is to lead the creation and promotion of a compelling global destination for tourism, trade and investment, for the benefit of all people in the Western Cape.

The Agency's mission is to fulfil their mandate as prescribed by the City of Cape Town and the Western Cape government; align their activities with the national and provincial priorities for tourism and economic growth, trade, and investment promotion initiatives; facilitate the relationships between tourism, business, and government decision-makers; and provide service excellence in all their business support functions.

Its priority sectors are: agribusiness, business process outsourcing and ICT, renewable energy, and tourism infrastructure.

Office Bearers

Prof Brian Figaji
Deputy Chairperson:
Mr Michael Spicer
Board Members:
Mr Paul Bannister
Mr Ian Bartes
Ms Andrea Böhmert
Prof Haroon Bhorat
Mr David Green
Mr Tim Harris (CEO)
Mr Anthony Peter Hurst
Bulelwa Makalima-Ngewana
Mr Chris Whelan
Mr Tim Harris
Mr Ian Blackie
Mr Howard Gabriels
Senior Management:
Mr Jason Bell (Acting Senior Manager: Trade Promotion)
Ms Rehana Boolay (Acting Senior Manager: Investment Promotion)
Ms Judith Coetzee (Senior Manager: Destination Marketing)
Ms Melanie Guentel (Office Manager)
Ms Jacqueline Harry (Senior Manager: Human Resources)
Mr Thiru Naidoo (Acting Senior Manager: Convention Bureau)
Ms Jacyntha Twynam (Senior Manager: Wesgro Research)
Communications Officers:
Mr Rolf Carelse (PR and Communications)
Ms Judy Lain (CMO)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedClean AuditClean Audit
Current Assetsn/a24 124226 99729 287
Non-Current Assetsn/a31 34630 11730 524
Total Assetsn/a55 470257 11459 811
Current Liabilitiesn/a19 154223 27223 153
Non-Current Liabilitiesn/a1 063918-
Total Liabilitiesn/a20 217224 19023 153
Total Net Assetsn/a35 25332 92436 658
Total Revenuen/a61 17874 38660 702
Revenue from Exchange Transactionsn/a4 8272 0712 340
Revenue from Non-Exchange Transactionsn/a56 35172 31557 019
Total Expendituren/a(58 850)(75 503)(55 988)
Employee Related costsn/a(23 175)(24 940)(22 623)
Surplus/(Deficit) for Yearn/a2 328(1 117)4 714
Net Cash Flows from Operating Activitiesn/a(198 482)195 29415 944
Net Cash Flows from Investing Activitiesn/a(110)(3 499)(1 031)
Cash & Cash Equivalents at End of Yearn/a19 541218 13326 338
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a---
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a--3
Posts Approvedn/a8410270
Posts Filledn/a638558
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at info@provincialgovernment.co.za so that we can correct them.
Gauteng Film Commission
Motheo TVET College
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd
National Department of Transport
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd