Department: Public Works and Infrastructure

Contact details

Physical: Cnr Markgraaf & St Andrew's Streets, Bloemfontein, 9301
Postal: PO Box 7551, Bloemfontein, 9301
Tel: 051 405 4037
Fax: 051 405 4490 / 086 624 7915


The mission of the Free State Department of Public Works and Infrastructure is the coordination, provision and promotion of infrastructure, and the sound management of assets. The Department's core functions are the design, construction and maintenance of social and economic infrastructure; management of provincial government owned property, and facilitation of rented property; provision of provincial government office accommodation; coordination, implementation and monitoring of the Expanded Public Works Programme; and security for interdepartmental buildings.

The Department's key functional areas include the construction, maintenance and upgrading of a sustainable social and economic infrastructure; development and sustaining of small and emerging contractors; empowerment of the targeted groups; demand for integrated accommodation for all provincial government departments; attainment of government's broad socio-economic objectives (property incubator programme); need for norms and standards for spatial allocation/utilisation of office space; need for increased revenue generation; and administration of rental payments.

Office Bearers

Ms D Kotzee
Head of Department
Mr M Seoke

Ms Dora Kotzee
Head of Department:
Mr Maditse Seoke
Ms Jabulile Maphisa
Chief Directors:
Mr Siza Mtolo (Research, Monitoring and Evaluation)
Ms Gladys Mushikoma (Property Management)
Mr Moratehi Ndlebe (Design, Works, Construction and Maintenance)
Ms Masego Tshabalala (Expanded Public Works Programme (EPWP))
Ms Irene de Beer (Strategic Planning)
Mr Stan Diakos (Human Resource Management)
Mr Andre Geldenhuys (Chief Construction Project Manager)
Ms Nicoline Jordaan (Finance)
Ms Lebohang Khumalo (Asset Management (SCM))
Seabe Magashule (Operational Property)
Ms Rose Melato (Manager: Office of the MEC)
Ms Lindi Mnguni (Special Programmes)
Ms Refilwe Mocwaledi (Internal Audit)
Mr Kgathatso Moletse (Legal Services)
Ms Joyce Motsie (Performance Monitoring and Evaluation)
Mr Nicolaas Neniels (Media and Parliamentary Liaison Officer (MPLO))
Ms Agnes Ntilane (Strategic Asset Management – Property Portfolio)
Mr Bandile Ntombela (Information Communications Technology (ICT))
Mr Khaya Radebe (Supply Chain Management)
Communications Officers:
Mr Mlungisi Maqubela (Head: Communication and Media Liaison)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedQualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a1 386 2311 403 6711 277 924
Actual Expendituren/a1 383 5691 399 4131 255 252
Employee Compensationn/a372 654339 107313 992
Goods and Servicesn/a567 155539 533500 020
Capital Assetsn/a173 273235 010170 313
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a59554 59271 716
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a--13
Posts Approvedn/a2 2583 1711 976
Posts Filledn/a2 1402 8061 760
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
South African Institute of Chartered Accountants
National Department of Transport
International Pre-University College
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd