Department: Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation

Contact details

Physical: HOD Building, Sport & Recreation Grounds, Free State Psychiatric Complex
Postal: Private Bag X20606, Bloemfontein, 9300
Tel: 051 407 3520/22
Fax: 051 407 3541


The mission of the Free State Department of Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation is the creation of an enabling environment for social cohesion and nation-building by establishing structures of civil society to improve levels of governance and administration within sport, arts, culture and recreation; implementing inclusive programmes that enhance and retain Free State talent and capacity within sport, arts, culture and recreation, as well as ensuring development pathways towards healthy lifestyles and excellence; promoting intra and interparticipation and cooperation within all spheres of government; and promoting sport, arts and recreation tourism within and into the Free State province.
The Department's strategic goals are to render efficient, effective and economic support services by conducting the overall and administrative support of the Department; ensure cultural diversity and the advancement of artistic disciplines into viable industries, and accelerate the transformation of the country's heritage landscape; ensure access to reading, learning and information through the provision of public library services, and archive and records management services; and support Free State citizens who are and want to become actively involved in sport and recreation.

Office Bearers

Mrs NS Leeto
Head of Department
Mr RS Malope

Mrs Nokwanje Selinah Leeto
Head of Department:
Mr Ramathe Stanley Malope
Mr JS Kellerman
Chief Directors:
Mr T Loate (HOD’s Office)
Mr MC Masekoa (Cultural Affairs)
Ms KK Tlhakudi (Sport and Recreation)
Mr Tshitso Challa (Archives)
Mr Vincent Khetha (Museum and Heritage Services)
Mr Lerato Lengau (Security Management)
Ms Petro Loftie-Eaton (Human Resource Management)
Ms Nthabiseng Makopo (Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation)
Mr Struben Mathumbu (School Sport)
Mr Kagisho Moeca (Operational Support)
Ms Mahlape Ntipe (Finance)
Mrs NMR Ried (Internal Audit)
Ms Jacomien Schimper (Library and Archive Services)
Mr L Sebeela (Supply Chain Management)
Mr Mario Sefo (Office of the HOD)
Mr Barry Swanepoel (Arts and Culture Services)
Ms Zola Thamae (Community Sport)
Mr Evert Venter (Free State Sport Science Institution)
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Mr Bernie Naude (Deputy Director: Communication)
Mr Tankiso Zola (Director: Communications and IT)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEQualifiedClean AuditClean AuditClean Audit
Total Final Appropriation711 527669 176550 899453 057
Actual Expenditure698 843662 300541 863445 337
Employee Compensation235 942197 247173 980159 292
Goods and Services163 929174 059154 488154 244
Capital Assets227 929231 943170 103111 253
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure-935402 380
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure--774372
Posts Approvedn/a1 068949803
Posts Filledn/a789728695
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
South African Institute of Chartered Accountants
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa
International Pre-University College
Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd