Department: Agriculture and Rural Development

Contact details

Physical: 11 Diagonal Street, Cnr President Street, Diamond Building, Johannesburg
Postal: PO Box 8769, Johannesburg, 2001
Tel: 011 240 2500
Fax: 011 240 2619


The mission of the Gauteng Department of Agriculture and Rural Development is to unlock the full potential of environment, agriculture and rural development to enhance the economic, ecological and social wealth of all the people of Gauteng through improved access to affordable, diverse and nutritious food; accelerated sustainable agrarian reform; championing of animal health and welfare in a cost-sharing/recovery model; improved rural services and infrastructure to support sustainable livelihoods with respect to agriculture, environment, education, health, transport, and other forms of infrastructure and services; rural job creation linked to skills development and promotion of economic livelihoods; sustainable management of natural resources by promoting conservation, better management of waste, and reduced greenhouse emissions; and efficient and effective governance, quality service delivery and access for an empowered, active and responsible citizenship.

Office Bearers

Mr L Maile
Head of Department
Ms T Mbassa-Sigabi

Mr Lebogang Maile
Head of Department:
Ms Thandeka Mbassa-Sigabi
Chief Directors:
Dr Malcolm de Budé (Veterinary Services and Sustainable Resource Management)
Mr Mfundo Hadebe (Acting: Finance Management)
Ms Joy Letlonkane (Strategic Support and Governance)
Mr Aluoneswi Mafunzwaini (Rural Development)
Ms Kgari Manotwane (Transformation)
Ms Disebo Mashitisho (Compliance and Enforcement)
Mr Loyiso Mkwana (Sustainable Use of Environment)
Mr Michael Mosifane (Acting: Agriculture)
Mr Jabulani Dubula (Deputy Director: Office of the HOD)
Senior Management:
Ms Joyce Hadebe (Head: MEC’s Office)
Communications Officers:
Mr Andile Gumede (Communications: Corporate)
Roleta Lebelo (Head: Communications)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a626 100555 207517 659
Actual Expendituren/a615 022549 135515 888
Employee Compensationn/a330 853291 624267 441
Goods and Servicesn/a208 179201 491192 888
Capital Assetsn/a17 32611 76023 982
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a7 6775 63615 203
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a41314
Posts Approvedn/a1 1061 003937
Posts Filledn/a900829793
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
International Pre-University College
Motheo TVET College
Free State Department of Public Works & Infrastructure
National Department of Transport
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa