Department: Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Contact details

Physical: 63 Fox Street, Johannesburg
Postal: Private Bag X86, Marshalltown, 2107
Tel: 011 355 4884


The mission of the Gauteng Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs is to coordinate the effective functioning of local government, promote integrated development planning, and deepen participatory democracy in order to accelerate service delivery.

The Department has adopted a set of values that are informed by the Batho Pele (People First) principles of the South African public service, and as an organisation its specific focus is on respect, integrity, responsibility, accountability and fairness.

Office Bearers

Mr P Mashatile
Head of Department
Mr B Nkontwana

Mr Paul Mashatile
Head of Department:
Mr Brightboy Nkontwana
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Mr Victor Moreriane (Head: Communication)
Mr Motsamai Motlhaolwa (Spokesperson)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean Auditn/a
Total Final Appropriationn/a341 088313 385n/a
Actual Expendituren/a283 461273 657n/a
Employee Compensationn/a222 104200 299n/a
Goods and Servicesn/a52 50566 581n/a
Capital Assetsn/a1 8794 263n/a
Unauthorised Expendituren/a--n/a
Irregular Expendituren/a1 7506 497n/a
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a25129n/a
Posts Approvedn/a918899n/a
Posts Filledn/a673685n/a
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report
NoteThe Department: Local Government and Housing was, after March 2013, split into the Department: Human Settlements and the Department: Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs. The above figures and Annual Report are for the previously combined Department: Local Government and Housing.

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd
Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd
Motheo TVET College
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)