Department: Agriculture and Rural Development

Contact details

Physical: Truro House, 8th Floor, 17 Victoria Embankment, Durban
Postal: Private Bag X9059, Pietermaritzburg, 3200
Tel: 033 355 9100
Fax: 033 355 9122


The mission of the KwaZulu-Natal Department of Agriculture and Rural Development, together with its partners and communities, is to champion quality agricultural, environmental and conservation services and drive integrated comprehensive rural development for all the people of KwaZulu-Natal.

The Department's strategic objectives are: provision of food security; farmer development and support; integrated sustainable natural environmental management; integrated and transformed service delivery; globally competitive agricultural production; accessible, quality and available food; farmer succession (emergent to commercial); sustainable job creation (BEE); development of new markets (agricultural and value added); development of new and diverse products; safe, healthy and sustainable environments; sustainable natural resource utilisation and community participation; improvement of national and international trade access and competitiveness; and a transformed Department, geared for service excellence and compliance with its legislative mandate.

Office Bearers

Mr T Mthembu
Head of Department
Dr S Mkhize

Mr Themba Mthembu
Head of Department:
Dr Siphiwe Mkhize
Ms Mathobi Mkhize
Chief Directors:
Senior Management:
Mr Carlos Boldogh (Senior General Manager: Chief of Operations)
Mr Sifiso Buthelezi (Senior Manager: Marketing and External Communication)
Mr Sihle Gumede (Personal Assistant: MEC)
Mr E Habermann (Management Accounting Services)
Ms Jabu Majola (Senior General Manager: Corporate Services)
Ms Zodumo Mbuli (Head: Ministry)
Ms Nomzamo Mkhize (Deputy Manager: Office of the HOD)
Mr Sibusiso Mncadi (Senior Manager: Supply Chain Management)
Ms Nishi Seegobin (Senior Manager: Legal Services)
Ms Thoko Shezi (Senior Manager: Rural Development, Planning and Coordination)
Ms Busisiwe B Xulu (Senior Manager: Executive Support – HOD's Office)
Communications Officers:
Sfiso Buthelezi
Mr Lelethu Manetsa (Media Liaison Services and Deputy Manager: External Communication)
Mr Mandla Ngema (Senior Manager: Internal Communication)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a2 163 3132 050 4502 854 220
Actual Expendituren/a2 004 4541 989 5402 849 212
Employee Compensationn/a851 046834 225846 583
Goods and Servicesn/a714 125825 0771 036 692
Capital Assetsn/a215 178178 813251 071
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a17 36021 977117 829
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a33479979
Posts Approvedn/a3 6044 1364 216
Posts Filledn/a2 8653 3413 384
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Public Entities

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd
Motheo TVET College
Free State Department of Public Works & Infrastructure
Telkom - Business Connexion