Department: Arts and Culture

Contact details

Physical: 222 Jabu Ndlovu Street, Pietermaritzburg, 3200
Postal: Private Bag X9140, Pietermaritzburg, 3200
Tel: 033 264 3400
Fax: 033 394 2237


The mission of the KwaZulu-Natal Department of Arts and Culture is to provide world-class services in arts and culture for the people of KwaZulu-Natal by developing and promoting arts and culture and mainstreaming its role in social development; developing and promoting previously marginalised languages and enhancing linguistic diversity; collecting, managing and preserving archival, museum and other forms of information resources; and integrating and providing seamless art and culture services to the communities.

The Department's strategic goals are to institutionalise and sustain good corporate governance; create an environment that fosters the development and preservation of all art forms and cultures; contribute towards the creation of sustainable livelihoods for the people of KwaZulu-Natal and nurture emerging entrepreneurs through arts and culture sectors; provide equitable access to world-class library, information, museum and archive services; facilitate transformation and economic growth through the arts and culture sectors; and improve service delivery by strengthening collaborative partnerships with other government departments, entities and private organisations.

Office Bearers

Mrs B Sithole-Moloi
Head of Department
Ms S Nzimande

Mrs Bongiwe Sithole-Moloi
Head of Department:
Ms Sbongile Nzimande
Mrs N Thomas
Chief Directors:
Ms LBP Gwala (Administration Services)
Mr MB Mnguni (Culture Affairs)
Mr M Mpungose (Regional Office Management)
Mr JM Mtshali (Corporate Governance)
Ms C Slater (Library, Archives and Museums)
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Lethukuthula Mtshali

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedQualifiedQualifiedQualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a731 695694 261481 612
Actual Expendituren/a710 027698 686479 744
Employee Compensationn/a166 307148 138131 087
Goods and Servicesn/a175 520180 134118 802
Capital Assetsn/a70 92368 35342 387
Unauthorised Expendituren/a-16 437-
Irregular Expendituren/a51 598125 2621 467
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a71-6
Posts Approvedn/a672591500
Posts Filledn/a560533460
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd
Free State Department of Public Works & Infrastructure
Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd
National Department of Transport