Department: Social Development

Contact details

Physical: 18 College Street, Polokwane, 0700
Postal: Private Bag X9302, Polokwane, 0700
Tel: 015 293 6027
Fax: 015 293 6170


The mission of the Limpopo Department of Social Development is to ensure the provision of comprehensive social protection services against vulnerability and poverty within the constitutional and legislative framework, and create an enabling environment for sustainable development. The Department further aims to deliver integrated, sustainable and quality services, in partnership with all those committed to building a caring society.

The Department has identified and committed itself to addressing the following key priorities: child and youth care; early childhood development; anti-substance abuse; food for all / zero hunger; and the protection and promotion of the rights of older people and people with disabilities.

Office Bearers

Ms J Mashamba
Head of Department
Ms D Ramokgopa

Ms Joyce Mashamba
Head of Department:
Ms Daphne Ramokgopa
Mr T Rikhotso
Senior Management:
Mr J Malatji (Acting General Manager: District Support)
Ms B Mohale (General Manager: Programme 3)
Ms D Ramokgopa (General Manager: Programme 2)
Communications Officers:
Mr Desmond Mahopo

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedQualifiedQualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a1 492 8131 382 1471 193 183
Actual Expendituren/a1 470 0381 315 0011 191 502
Employee Compensationn/a762 643665 059576 615
Goods and Servicesn/a225 661242 206166 899
Capital Assetsn/a34 89732 77678 441
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a14 5206 22419 977
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a3 5154132 069
Posts Approvedn/a4 8194 819784
Posts Filledn/a2 8722 640703
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Motheo TVET College
Free State Department of Public Works & Infrastructure
South African Institute of Chartered Accountants
International Pre-University College