Department: Health

Contact details

Physical: 7 Government Boulevard, Building 3, Riverside Park, Mbombela, 1200
Postal: Private Bag X11285, Mbombela, 1200
Tel: 013 766 3754
Fax: 013 766 3475


The mission of the Mpumalanga Department of Health is to improve the quality of health and well-being of all people in the province by providing a needs-based, people-centred, equitable health care delivery system through an integrated network of health care services, provided by a cadre of dedicated and well-skilled health workers.

The Department's strategic goals are to increase life expectancy; decrease maternal and child mortality; combat HIV/AIDS and decrease the burden of disease from tuberculosis; and strengthen health system effectiveness.

Office Bearers

Mr GP Mashego
Head of Department
Dr AM Morake

Mr Gillion Pudumo Mashego
Head of Department:
Dr Aggrey Mabuti Morake
Chief Directors:
Mr JM Khalishwayo (Acting: Corporate Services)
Mr M Machaba (Acting: Integrated Health Planning)
Ms BM Mojapelo (Financial Services)
Mr B Motau (Internal Audit and Risk Management)
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Mr D Malamule
Mr Christopher Nobela (Media Liaison Officer)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEQualifiedQualifiedQualifiedQualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a9 045 6828 138 3567 649 290
Actual Expendituren/a8 879 2928 065 3977 501 291
Employee Compensationn/a5 537 6634 989 2414 474 576
Goods and Servicesn/a2 243 5102 639 4732 184 532
Capital Assetsn/a312 522460 130639 160
Unauthorised Expendituren/a190 115213 031-
Irregular Expendituren/a1 918 896818 401123 070
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a3 614329887
Posts Approvedn/a31 277n/a21 225
Posts Filledn/a19 244n/a18 195
Sources n/a Annual Report n/a Annual Report

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Bytes Universal Systems – a Division of Altron TMT (Pty) Ltd
Free State Department of Public Works & Infrastructure
South African Institute of Chartered Accountants
Motheo TVET College
National Department of Transport