Provincial Legislature

Contact details

Physical: Building No.1, Government Boulevard, Legislature & Government Complex, Riverside Park, Extension 2, Mbombela, 1200
Postal: Private Bag X11289, Mbombela, 1200
Tel: 013 766 1219
Fax: 013 766 1465


The Mpumalanga Provincial Legislature was established in 1994 in terms of the Constitution of South Africa. Consequently, it has the constitutional mandate of lawmaking, oversight of the Executive, and facilitation of public involvement and participation. As an elected representative body, it has 30 members who are elected for a five-year period from the political parties that contested a provincial election and won seats, which are allocated in terms of proportional representation. However, as determined in the Constitution, 11 members become Members of the Executive Council (MEC), headed by the Premier. The Speaker is the Executive Authority of the Legislature and the Secretary to the Legislature is the Accounting Officer.

In addition to the constitutional mandate, its vision is to be 'a people-centred African world Legislature' and its mission is to 'effectively and efficiently hold the executive and other state organs accountable by means of intensified oversight, enhanced public education and participation, and lawmaking; and to ensure improved service delivery by adhering to the Batho Pele principles supported by administrative excellence and good governance'.

The Legislature has also adopted seven strategic outcome-orientated goals and several strategic objectives to ensure that it is able to achieve its vision and mission, and also fulfil its constitutional mandate. The Mpumalanga Provincial Legislature is an important institution in the province. As the voice of the people, it remains the bedrock of representative democracy in the province.

Office Bearers

Ms BT Shongwe
Deputy Speaker
Mr BD Dube

Ms Blessing Thandi Shongwe (ANC)
Deputy Speaker:
Mr Boy David Dube (ANC)
Mr Bosman Grobler (DA)
Mr Sikhumbuzo Eric Kholwane (ANC) (MEC)
Mr David Dabede Mabuza (ANC) (Premier)
Mr William Thulare Madileng (ANC)
Ms Norah Mahlangu-Mabena (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Sibusiso Innocent Malaza (ANC)
Sasekani Manzini (ANC) (MEC)
Mr James Masango (DA) (Leader: DA)
Mr Gillion Pudumo Mashego (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Speedy Mashilo (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Cleopas Maunye (BRA)
Ms Makgabo Reginah Mhaule (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Johanne Musa Mkhatshwa (ANC) (Chief Whip)
Fidel Mlombo (ANC)
Ms Refilwe Maria Mtshweni (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Jeaneth Lizzy Nghondzweni (ANC)
Ms Patricia Ngobeni (ANC)
Mr Petrus Simon Ngomana (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Basani Violet Nkuna (ANC)
Mr Collen Micheal Sedibe (EFF)
Ms Cynthia Gabsile Shabalala (ANC)
Busi Shiba (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Vusumuzi Robert Shongwe (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Reasetja Jane Sithole (DA)
Ms Violet Sizani Siwela (ANC)
Mr Alfred Landwa Skhosana (EFF)
Mr SPD Skhosana ka Mahlangu (ANC)
Mr Victor Vusumuzi Zibuthe Windvoël (ANC)
Mr Linda John Mwale
Mr Sello Sanyane
Communications Officers:
Ms Zamagambu Memela-Gamede (Senior Manager: Communication)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a291 121251 405232 331
Actual Expendituren/a288 922250 877231 048
Employee Compensationn/a115 908102 87388 047
Goods and Servicesn/a130 287114 730114 782
Capital Assetsn/a4 6564 9562 794
Unauthorised Expendituren/a--1 082
Irregular Expendituren/a-1 562-
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a-2 616102
Posts Approvedn/a234234234
Posts Filledn/a194176180
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
International Pre-University College
Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa
South African Institute of Chartered Accountants
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd