Provincial Legislature

Contact details

Physical: Independence Avenue, Bhisho
Postal: Private Bag X0051, Bhisho, 5605
Tel: 040 609 1519
Fax: 040 635 0016


The Eastern Cape Provincial Legislature strives to deepen democracy, promote development and build a better life for all, through lawmaking, effective public participation and vigorous oversight.

The Legislature has the responsibility to pass laws which upon implementation will impact positively on the lives of the people. In addition, the Legislature must ensure that public accountability is promoted and maintained. It is also important for the Legislature to fulfil its constitutional mandate of ensuring that the public is engaged in governance and service delivery.

Office Bearers

Ms N Kiviet
Deputy Speaker
Ms B Tunyiswa

Ms Noxolo Kiviet (ANC)
Deputy Speaker:
Ms Bulelwa Tunyiswa (ANC)
Ms Noxolo Abraham-Ntantiso (ANC)
Ms Celeste Heloise Barker (DA)
Ms Fezeka Bayeni (ANC)
Mr Jacobus Petrus Johannes Botha (DA)
Mr Mxolisi Dimaza (ANC)
Mr Tony Duba (ANC)
Ms Pumza Patricia Dyantyi (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Koliswa Fihlani-Magwaxaza (ANC) (Deputy Chief Whip)
Mr Fundile David Gade (ANC)
Ms Nomawetu Gqiba (ANC)
Mr Sicelo Gqobana (ANC)
Ms Vicky Knoetze-Bosman (DA)
Ms Deborah Komose (ANC)
Ms Nonceba Kontsiwe (ANC)
Mr Vuyisile Krakri (AIC) (Leader: AIC)
Mr Vuyani Morgan Limba (ANC)
Mr Vumile Lwana (ANC)
Mr Sanele Magaqa (DA)
Ms Pemmy Majodina (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Mandla Makupula (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Thandiswa Marawu (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Christian Martin (ANC)
Mr Phumulo Godfrey Masualle (ANC) (Premier)
Mr Masiza Maxwell Mhlati (UDM) (Leader: UDM)
Ms Nomvuzo Mlombile-Cingo (ANC)
Mr Thando Ursmond Mpulu (UDM)
Ms Phumeza Mpushe (ANC)
Mr Mzoleli Mrara (ANC) (Chief Whip)
Ms Nomxolisi Mtitshana (ANC)
Ms Nonkosi Mvana (ANC)
Ms Veliswa Mvenya (DA)
Mr Cecil Mlungisi Ndamase (ANC)
Mr Pumelele Ndamase (ANC)
Ms Busisiwe Ndlangisa-Makaula (ANC)
Mr Tando Ngcolomba (ANC)
Ms Ntombovuyo Nkopane (ANC)
Mr Xolile Nqatha (ANC)
Mr Mninawa Nyusile (ANC)
Mr Michael Peter (ANC)
Mr Siyabulela Peter (EFF) (Leader: EFF)
Ms Alice Nomvula Ponco (ANC)
Mr Ross Kriel Purdon (DA)
Mr Mlibo Qoboshiyane (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Irene Nomachule Quvile (UDM)
Ms Helen Sauls-August (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Mpumelelo Saziwa (ANC)
Mr Lievie Kean Sharpley (COPE) (Leader: COPE)
Ms Nomadewuka Nancy Sihlwayi (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Mzuyanda Sokujika (ANC)
Mr Sakhumzi Somyo (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Robert Stevenson (DA) (Leader: DA)
Ms Weziwe Tikana (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Themba Tinta (ANC)
Mr Donald Tamsanqa Tsengwa (UDM)
Mr Ncwadi Christopher Tunyiswa (ANC)
Mr Peter Edmund van Vuuren (DA)
Mr Marshall Roberto Von Buchenroder (DA)
Mr Fikile Xasa (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Ntombizodwa Tamara Xhanti (ANC)
Mr Litha Law Zibula (EFF)
Mr Vuyani Mapolisa
Ms Zanele Mene
Ms Nombulelo Dyan (Acting)
Mr Innocent Netshitumbu
Senior Management:
Mr Lwandile Fumba (Senior Manager: Secretary's Office)
Mr Sipho Lunyawo (General Manager: Speaker’s Office)
Communications Officers:
Ms Tanishka L du Plessis (Senior Communication Officer)
Ms Nombulelo Mosana (Senior Manager: Communication)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a465 525452 606415 759
Actual Expendituren/a442 663443 009407 040
Employee Compensationn/a238 720217 407191 837
Goods and Servicesn/a92 274111 325117 779
Capital Assetsn/a7 7189 8526 894
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a-6396 621
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a-256171
Posts Approvedn/a489489381
Posts Filledn/a364359247
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
International Pre-University College
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
South African Institute of Chartered Accountants
Free State Department of Public Works & Infrastructure