Department: Finance

Contact details

Physical: Garona Building, East Wing, 2nd Floor, Cnr James Moroka & University Drive, Mmabatho, 2735
Postal: Private Bag X2060, Mmabatho, 2735
Tel: 018 388 4441 / 5679 / 3584
Fax: 018 388 1901/1724


The vision of the North West Department of Finance is to be the ultimate financial management authority and adviser on fiscal matters to the Bokone Bophirima Provincial and Local Administration in pursuit of transparency, good financial management and accountability to all its stakeholders.

The Department's mission is to provide leadership in the management of public resources for efficient, effective and economic service delivery through well-coordinated support to provincial departments, public entities and municipalities.

The Department's strategic goals are to provide political direction through tabling of estimates of provincial revenue and expenditure in line with provincial priorities; provide leadership in all facets of strategic and financial management in the province; ensure effective implementation of risk management, fraud prevention and internal control in the Department; monitor and evaluate performance of provincial departments and public entities; provide effective and efficient administrative support services to the Department to enhance performance; inform efficient allocation of financial resources in the province by providing socio-economic analysis on an annual basis; coordinate and enhance revenue collection in the province by monitoring that departments submit their annual tariffs and revenue reports; annually prepare, plan, and exercise control over the implementation of provincial budget; assess infrastructure plans, monitor and report on the implementation of Infrastructure Delivery Improvement Programme (IDIP) in the North West Provincial Government; provide oversight activities and strategic financial management support to municipalities; provide a monitoring, evaluation and support function to ensure effective and efficient provincial asset management (physical and financial); ensure the development and implementation of appropriate supply chain management strategies for the provincial administration; provide support to provincial departments and public entities to improve financial accountability; ensure the provision of accounting support in the provincial administration and public entities by achieving clean audit; ensure the coordination of financial management and systems training and the provision of systems administration and support in the provincial administration; ensure effective risk management in provincial departments and public entities; and provide a value add risk and compliance-based internal audit service to departments, which will contribute to the improvement of governance, risk management and control processes in the province.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms WJ Nelson
Head of Department
Mr N Kunene

Ms Wendy Joy Nelson (Finance, Economy and Enterprise Development)
Head of Department:
Mr Ndlela Kunene
Mr Riad Soofie
Deputy Directors General:
Mr Geo Paul (Provincial Accountant General)
Chief Directors:
Mr Mosimanegape Bogosi (Budget and Public Finance Management )
Mr Akbar Ganey (Financial Systems)
Ms Matshidiso Jansen-Mwase (Corporate Services)
Ms Harriet Kasirivu (Chief Economist)
Mr Harry Mashao (Provincial Supply Chain Management)
Mr Malele Mogoane (Macro Economic Analysis)
Mr Andre Nel (Chief Audit Executive)
Ms Linda Nengovhela (Municipal Finance Management)
Mr Kingsley Sehularo (MEC Support)
Senior Management:
Mr Errol Abrahams (Budget and Public Finance)
Mr Mtheto Daantjie (Infrastructure Coordination)
Mr Bushy Gaasenoe (Norms and Standards)
Ms Kesalopa Gill (Information Management)
Mr Maxwell Gopane (Financial Systems)
Mr Razvan Hartopanu (Specialised Audits)
Ms Karen Horsley (Accounting Services)
Mr Gordon Letlhogile (Strategic Management)
Ms Desiree Mafulako (Human Resources Management and Development)
Mr Katlego Mahila (Provincial Risk Management)
Mr Varughese Mammen (Supply Chain Management)
Mr Odwa Mduli (Provincial Asset Management)
Ms Botlhale Moalosi (Budget Management)
Ms Tumisang Moeketsane (Municipal Finance Management)
Ms Lesedi Mosiane (Municipal Finance Management)
Ms Lebo Mosupa-Mocuminyane (Budget Management)
Mr Thomas Sekoboane (Provincial Internal Audit: Social Cluster)
Mr Ndinga Sidumo (Budget Management)
Ms Mary Wilson (Internal Audit Support Services)
Communications Officers:
Ms Kesalopa Gill (Director: Information Management)
Ms Matshidiso Matlou (Deputy Director: Communication)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditClean Audit
Total Final Appropriationn/a461 153451 643471 943
Actual Expendituren/a425 598421 085391 185
Employee Compensationn/a216 255204 876175 343
Goods and Servicesn/a197 978205 047208 848
Capital Assetsn/a7 9228 1246 392
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a---
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a-28
Posts Approvedn/a722591613
Posts Filledn/a539540478
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd