Department: Community Safety

Contact details

Physical: 35 Wale Street, Cape Town, 8000
Postal: PO Box 5346, Cape Town, 8000
Tel: 021 483 6949
Fax: 021 483 6591


The mission of the Western Cape Department of Community Safety is to increase safety for all the people in the province by improving performance of policing through effective oversight, enhancing active citizenship in the field of community safety, promoting road safety, and optimising safety and security risk management.

The Department's strategic goals are to ensure internal process excellence to support the Department in effectively delivering on its mandate; increase safety to communities by improving performance of policing through effective oversight; increase safety by enhancing the levels of active citizenship, focusing on designing institutions and approaches for safety and security partnerships, and promoting community policing, which will contribute to developing a whole-of-society model; promote road safety in the province by providing traffic law enforcement services, facilitating road safety education, communication and awareness, and providing training and development opportunities to all traffic policing officials and other law enforcement officials; and maximise the safety contribution of Western Cape Government (WCG) institutions, assets and people by rendering a comprehensive, integrity-based safety and security risk management service to provincial departments for the management of their respective security risks.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr D Plato
Head of Department
Mr G Morris

Mr Dan Plato (Minister)
Head of Department:
Mr Gideon Morris
Chief Directors:
Mr M Frizlar (Acting: Corporate Services)
Mr S George (Security Risk Management)
Ms A Mohamed (Acting: Secretariat for Safety and Security)
Mr D Coetzee (Acting: Provincial Security Operations)
Mr R de Lange (Social Crime Prevention)
Ms A Dissell (Policy and Research)
Dr E Engelbrecht (Security Advisory Service)
Mr Lawrence Lawrence (Acting: Financial Management)
Mr D Oosthuizen (Monitoring and Evaluation)
Mr D Prinsloo (Acting: Strategic Services and Communication)
Ms T Shaku (Community Police Relations)
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Mr Ewald Botha (Media Liaison Officer)
Ms Chantell Hendricks (Communication)
Mr Conrad Osman (Communication)
Mr Greg Wagner (Head: Office)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditClean Audit
Total Final Appropriationn/a235 235231 025398 845
Actual Expendituren/a230 323225 864394 354
Employee Compensationn/a117 246107 177244 850
Goods and Servicesn/a67 91770 771103 760
Capital Assetsn/a10 5878 60623 687
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a---
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a318-
Posts Approvedn/a3193551 024
Posts Filledn/a302306886
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Public Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
The National School of Government
Regent Business School
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
Osizweni Science Centre
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd