Department: Local Government

Contact details

Physical: 8th Floor, Waldorf Building, 80 St George's Mall, Cape Town, 8001
Postal: Private Bag X9076, Cape Town, 8000
Tel: 021 483 4049/4997
Fax: 021 483 4493


The mission of the Western Cape Department of Local Government is to capacitate municipalities to deliver quality services to communities; promote participative, integrated and sustainable communities; ensure that municipal plans reflect national, provincial and local priorities and resources through sound intergovernmental relations; be the first port of call to municipalities for advice and support; and facilitate delivery through sound administration and the engagement of all spheres of government and social partners.

The Department's objectives and mandates are to establish municipalities consistent with national legislation; support and strengthen the capacity of municipalities; regulate the performance of municipalities in terms of their functions listed in the Constitution; intervene where there is nonfulfilment of legislative, executive or financial obligations; and promote a developmental local government.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr A Bredell
Head of Department
Mr G Paulse

Mr Anton Bredell (Minister)
Head of Department:
Mr Graham Paulse
Ms B Sewlall-Singh
Chief Directors:
Ms Eda Barnard (Municipal Performance Monitoring and Support)
Mr Colin Deiner (Disaster Management and Fire Rescue Services)
Ms Nozuko Zamxaka (Integrated Service Delivery)
Mr Walton Carelse (Integrated Development Planning)
Mr Albert Dlwengu (Policy and Strategic Support)
Ms M Green (Acting: Municipal Support and Capacity Building)
Mr Craig Mitchell (Public Participation)
Mr M Pretorius (Service Delivery Integration)
Senior Management:
Mr Marius Brand
Mr Schalk Carstens
Mr Kosie Haarhoff
Mr Heinrich Magerman
Ms Jacqueline Pandaram
Communications Officers:
Ms Rowena Kellies (Head: Communications)
Mr James-Brent Styan (Media Liaison Officer)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditClean Audit
Total Final Appropriationn/a218 758199 751175 985
Actual Expendituren/a213 020197 479172 062
Employee Compensationn/a131 500123 726117 410
Goods and Servicesn/a45 47643 12338 943
Capital Assetsn/a15 1805 0466 075
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a-6317
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a--7
Posts Approvedn/a361395411
Posts Filledn/a345360345
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Chartered Institute Of Government Finance, Audit & Risk Officers
Regent Business School
Osizweni Science Centre