Department: Transport and Public Works

Contact details

Physical: 8th Floor, 9 Dorp Street, Cape Town, 8000
Postal: Private Bag X9185, Cape Town, 8001
Tel: 021 483 6481/2826
Fax: 021 483 5068


The vision of the Western Cape Department of Transport and Public Works is to lead in the delivery of government infrastructure and related services. The Department's mission is to deliver infrastructure and services in order to promote socio-economic outcomes and safe, empowered and connected communities.

The Department's strategic goals are to continually provide policy and strategic leadership, as well as support services to enable the Department to deliver on government priorities and objectives; lead and facilitate the internalisation of the Expanded Public Works Programme (EPWP) across all departments and stakeholders in the Western Cape and within this Department; lead and promote the development and implementation of an integrated transport system intergovernmentally and transversally within the Western Cape; and lead the development and implementation of provincial infrastructure and the management of property, intergovernmentally and transversally within the Western Cape by meeting appropriate standards.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr D Grant
Head of Department
Ms J Gooch

Mr Donald Grant (Minister)
Head of Department:
Ms Jacqui Gooch
Adv Chantal Smith
Deputy Directors General:
Mr Frans Hanekom (Strategy, Planning and Coordination)
Adv Gavin Kode (Provincial Public Works)
Adv Kyle Reinecke (Transport Management)
Chief Directors:
Mr Kenneth Africa (Traffic Management)
Mr Yasir Ahmed (Transport Regulations)
Ms Andrea Campbell (General Infrastructure)
Mr Lenn Fourie (Road Network Management)
Ms Ronel Judin (Immovable Asset Management)
Mr Ramesh Maharaj (Strategic Management and Operational Support)
Mr Richard Petersen (Expanded Public Works [EPWP])
Mr Joey Pillay (Provincial PPP)
Ms Deidre Ribbonnaar (Transport Operations)
Mr Liam Thiel (Education Infrastructure)
Mr Gerrit van Schalkwyk (Policy and Strategic Integration)
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Mr Siphesihle Dube
Ms Beverline Thomas

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditClean Audit
Total Final Appropriationn/a6 916 2486 291 8925 036 526
Actual Expendituren/a6 668 3955 770 8084 814 733
Employee Compensationn/a692 452637 746443 169
Goods and Servicesn/a1 598 3841 410 6311 389 807
Capital Assetsn/a2 910 8582 461 0011 768 834
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a-42 2071 591
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a--5
Posts Approvedn/a2 3152 4061 479
Posts Filledn/a2 2282 2431 408
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Public Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd
African Utility Week
The National School of Government