Department: Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Contact details

Physical: 7th Floor, OR Tambo House, Cnr St Andrew's & Markgraaf Streets, Bloemfontein, 9301
Postal: PO Box 211, Bloemfontein, 9300
Tel: 051 405 5719
Fax: 051 403 3650


The mission of the Free State Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs is to strengthen cooperative governance and support municipalities and traditional leadership through integrated planning and development, partnerships, research, and monitoring and evaluation.

The Department's strategic goals are to create a department geared towards service excellence by ensuring that leadership and support are provided to the Department in accordance with all applicable acts and policies, thereby enhancing the effective and efficient functioning of the Department; strengthen cooperative governance in order to facilitate the creation of accountable and sustainable local governance through effective collaboration with all stakeholders; integrate development and planning, with the aim of promoting and facilitating integrated development and planning at local government level; and uphold viable and sustainable traditional institutions and the functioning of the Free State House of Traditional Leaders.

Office Bearers/Management

Mrs SH Ntombela
Head of Department
Mr MV Duma

Mrs Sefora Hixsonia Ntombela
Head of Department:
Mr Mokete Victor Duma
Ms Mosa Sebongile Tlali
Deputy Directors General:
Ms Anna Buthelezi (Traditional Affairs)
Mr Sipho Thomas (Local Government)
Chief Directors:
Mr Lehlohonolo Khiba (Municipal Intergovernmental Support and Capacitation)
Mr Letshela Mokoena (Corporate Services)
Adv Molemane Thebe (Municipal Planning and Development)
Senior Management:
Ms Lisebo Sefako (Chief Internal Audit)
Communications Officers:
Mr Ntai Mokhitli (Communications Manager)
Ms Maserati Sikhosana (Media and Parliamentary Liaison Officer)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a380 315371 625317 553
Actual Expendituren/a377 609364 265307 203
Employee Compensationn/a183 254171 020130 975
Goods and Servicesn/a152 502128 939105 831
Capital Assetsn/a5 6433 7802 427
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a1 54984827 363
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a20680308
Posts Approvedn/a391391657
Posts Filledn/a360343329
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd
Osizweni Science Centre
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd
African Utility Week
Chartered Institute Of Government Finance, Audit & Risk Officers