Department: Police, Roads and Transport

Contact details

Physical: 45 Charlotte Maxeke Street, Perm Building, Bloemfontein, 9301
Postal: PO Box 119, Bloemfontein, 9300
Tel: 051 409 8849
Fax: 051 409 8864


The vision of the Free State Department of Police, Roads and Transport is to contribute towards the creation of a prosperous Free State through the facilitation of the provision of sustainable community safety, mobility and road infrastructure. This is achieved by monitoring, overseeing and assessing police service delivery; promoting integrated crime prevention initiatives; and ensuring road safety and an integrated transport system and networks.

The following are some of the key strategic objectives of the Department: monitor and evaluate the effectiveness and efficiency of service delivery by the South African Police Service (SAPS); develop and execute social crime prevention programmes at provincial and local level; build an efficient public transport infrastructure network; implement the contractor development strategy; focus on the Construction Industry Development Board (CIDB) grading; develop a public transport centre; ensure a culture of proper road traffic law compliance by road users; and enhance improved service delivery capacity by employing contractors utilising local labour.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr S Mashinini
Head of Department
Mr S Msibi

Mr Sam Mashinini
Head of Department:
Mr Sandile Msibi
Ms Joy Masemola
Chief Directors:
Adv Tumelo Phahlo (Transport Operations)
Mr George Ramotsoto (Acting: Traffic Management)
Mr Norman Selai (Corporate Services)
Mr Robinson Thekiso (Roads Infrastructure)
Mr Raymond Erasmus (Security Management)
Adv Mojalefa Molotsi (Legal Services)
Mr Pule Motsoetla (Head: Office of the HOD and Acting Chief Director: Police, Research and Strategic Planning)
Senior Management:
Mr Leboela Moalosi (Chief Audit Executive)
Mr Godfrey Mosala (Head: Office of the MEC)
Mr Alberto Myburgh (Chief Risk Officer)
Mr O’Neil Nair (Head: Fleet Management Trading Entity)
Communications Officers:
Ms Hillary Mophethe (Communication Manager)
Ms Lindiwe Nkopane (Media Liaison Officer)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a2 985 1123 019 1212 999 763
Actual Expendituren/a2 420 2142 485 1542 193 540
Employee Compensationn/a561 082516 951489 424
Goods and Servicesn/a937 935881 279429 796
Capital Assetsn/a688 819769 5901 029 374
Unauthorised Expendituren/a12 9212510 547
Irregular Expendituren/a1 2222 57935 255
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a8211 121691
Posts Approvedn/a2 5232 9933 930
Posts Filledn/a2 3602 3332 080
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
The National School of Government
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd
Osizweni Science Centre
African Utility Week