Department: Agriculture and Rural Development

Contact details

Physical: 56 Eloff Street, Cnr Main Street, Umknoto House, Johannesburg
Postal: PO Box 8769, Johannesburg, 2001
Tel: 011 240 2500
Fax: 011 240 2619


The mission of the Gauteng Department of Agriculture and Rural Development is to unlock the full potential of environment, agriculture and rural development to enhance the economic, ecological and social wealth of all the people of Gauteng through improved access to affordable, diverse and nutritious food; accelerated sustainable agrarian reform; championing of animal health and welfare in a cost-sharing/recovery model; improved rural services and infrastructure to support sustainable livelihoods with respect to agriculture, environment, education, health, transport, and other forms of infrastructure and services; rural job creation linked to skills development and promotion of economic livelihoods; sustainable management of natural resources by promoting conservation, better management of waste, and reduced greenhouse emissions; and efficient and effective governance, quality service delivery and access for an empowered, active and responsible citizenship.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr L Maile
Head of Department
Ms T Mbassa

Mr Lebogang Maile
Head of Department:
Ms Thandeka Mbassa
Mr Abdullah Ismail
Chief Directors:
Mr Steven Makhola (Acting: Sustainable Resource Management)
Ms Kgari Manotwane (Rural Development)
Mr Nakampe Mogale (Support Services)
Mr Tladi Monyane (Strategic Support and Governance)
Mr Michael Mosifane (Acting: Agriculture)
Dr Dietana Nemudzivhadi (Acting: Veterinary Services)
Ms Ambibola Olowa (Compliance and Enforcement)
Ms Vuyokazi Jongwana (Deputy Director: Office of the HOD)
Senior Management:
Mr Collin Pisto (Head: MEC’s Office)
Communications Officers:
Mr Nozipho Hlabangana (Communications: Corporate)
Roleta Lebelo (Head: Communications)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a819 984626 100555 207
Actual Expendituren/a811 438615 022549 135
Employee Compensationn/a382 200330 853291 624
Goods and Servicesn/a350 562233 652201 491
Capital Assetsn/a51 79817 32611 760
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a45 7077 6775 636
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a-413
Posts Approvedn/a9871 1061 003
Posts Filledn/a905900829
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Regent Business School
The National School of Government
Osizweni Science Centre
Chartered Institute Of Government Finance, Audit & Risk Officers