Office of the Premier

Contact details

Physical: 30 Simmonds Street, Johannesburg, 2001
Postal: Private Bag X74, Marshalltown, 2107
Tel: 011 355 6000
Fax: 011 834 9177


The mission of the Gauteng Office of the Premier is to serve as a political nerve centre to ensure that government excels in fulfilling its mandate.

The Office of the Premier's strategic objectives are: providing strategic support to the Premier and the Executive Council (EXCO) to ensure effective strategic leadership; facilitating the setting of clear priorities, enabling legislation and improved governance to realise desired policy outcomes; building a developmental state with the capacity to drive change and transformation for the betterment of peoples' lives; forging social contracts with stakeholders to strengthen social partnerships for improved service delivery; ensuring that the Premier is provided with appropriate support to effectively execute his/her role and responsibilities; fostering strong intergovernmental and international relationships to advance the development agenda; driving the human resource policy and strategy to attract, develop and retain the best possible skills and to harness the productive energies of all Gauteng provincial government employees; driving integrated and effective government communication to ensure that people are well informed and have access to credible information about government services and programmes; and promoting participatory democracy to ensure ongoing interaction between government and civil society.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr D Makhura
Director General
Ms P Baleni

Mr David Makhura
Director General:
Ms Phindile Baleni
Chief of Staff:
Ms Charlotte Dube
Deputy Directors General:
Ms Annette Griessel (Policy Coordination, Monitoring and Evaluation)
Mr Khululekile Mase (Gauteng Planning Division – Development Planning)
Mr Thabo Masebe (Provincial Communication Services)
Mr Sifiso Mkhize (Corporate Management)
Ms Marie-Louise Moodie (Executive Development and Integrity Management)
Ms Elizabeth Thobejane (Institutional Development and Integrity Management)
Senior Management:
Mr Rasheed Seedat (Head: Gauteng Planning Division)
Communications Officers:
Mr Israel Mogale (Director: Corporate Communication)
Ms Nino Zama (Spokesperson for the Premier)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditClean Audit
Total Final Appropriationn/a430 432331 791421 406
Actual Expendituren/a413 849303 778413 113
Employee Compensationn/a234 004147 909127 697
Goods and Servicesn/a147 257131 636227 155
Capital Assetsn/a13 4459 4537 282
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a---
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a---
Posts Approvedn/a498325323
Posts Filledn/a429275245
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
The National School of Government
Chartered Institute Of Government Finance, Audit & Risk Officers
Regent Business School