Department: Provincial Treasury

Contact details

Physical: Tyamzashe Building, Phalo Avenue, Bhisho, 5605
Postal: Private Bag X0029, Bhisho, 5605
Tel: 040 101 0186
Fax: 040 101 0725


The mission of the Eastern Cape Provincial Treasury is to provide strategic and technical leadership in the allocation, management and utilisation of financial resources in order to improve quality of life in the province.

The Department's strategic goals are efficient and effective management of financial resources; sound financial accounting; allocative efficacy; sound stakeholder relations; and well-functioning department legislatures and other mandates.

The Department is mandated to fulfil the following functions: prepare and exercise control over the implementation of the provincial budget; promote and enforce transparency and effective management in respect of revenue, expenditure, assets and liabilities of provincial departments and provincial public entities; ensure that its fiscal policies do not materially and unreasonably prejudice national economic policies; enforce the Public Finance Management Act (PFMA) and any prescribed national and provincial norms and standards; comply with the annual Division of Revenue Act and monitor and assess the implementation of that act in provincial public entities; possibly assist in building capacities for efficient, effective and transparent financial management; possibly investigate any system of financial management and internal control; intervene by taking appropriate steps to address a serious or persistent material breach of this act; and promptly provide any information required by the National Treasury in terms of this act.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr S Somyo
Head of Department
Mr D Majeke

Mr Sakhumzi Somyo
Head of Department:
Mr Daluhlanga Majeke
Chief of Staff:
Ms Akhona Tinta
Mr Julius Gqibani
Deputy Directors General:
Ms Donee Cloete-Page (Programme 1 and 3: Administration and Transversal Supply Chain Management and Assets and Liabilities)
Mr Qonda Kalimashe (Programme 4: Financial Governance)
Mr Joe Mhlomi (Programme 2: Sustainable Resources Management)
Ms Bulelwa Nqadolo (Programme 5: Municipal Finance Governance)
Chief Directors:
Mr Thomas Sesele (Strategy and Planning)
Ms Vuyiseka Majola (Executive Support: HOD)
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Ms Nosisa Sogayise (Communication Services)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedClean Audit
Total Final Appropriationn/a1 195 699658 892554 005
Actual Expendituren/a492 422324 052339 119
Employee Compensationn/a252 873255 669250 043
Goods and Servicesn/a60 83556 00570 365
Capital Assetsn/a3 3406 39514 782
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a4161 310-
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a---
Posts Approvedn/a434410455
Posts Filledn/a417389434
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
The National School of Government
Chartered Institute Of Government Finance, Audit & Risk Officers
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
African Utility Week