Provincial Legislature

Contact details

Physical: Building No.1, Government Boulevard, Legislature & Government Complex, Riverside Park, Extension 2, Mbombela, 1200
Postal: Private Bag X11289, Mbombela, 1200
Tel: 013 766 1169
Fax: 013 766 1484


The Mpumalanga Provincial Legislature was established in 1994 in terms of the Constitution of South Africa. Consequently, it has the constitutional mandate of lawmaking, oversight of the Executive, and facilitation of public involvement and participation. As an elected representative body, it has 30 members who are elected for a five-year period from the political parties that contested a provincial election and won seats, which are allocated in terms of proportional representation. However, as determined in the Constitution, 11 members become Members of the Executive Council (MEC), headed by the Premier. The Speaker is the Executive Authority of the Legislature and the Secretary to the Legislature is the Accounting Officer.

In addition to the constitutional mandate, its vision is to be ‘A people-centred African world-class legislature' and its mission is ‘To hold the Executive and other state organs accountable through intensified oversight, enhanced public involvement and effective lawmaking supported by professional administrative service'.

The Legislature has also adopted strategic outcome-orientated goals and several strategic objectives to ensure that it is able to achieve its vision and mission, and also fulfil its constitutional mandate of lawmaking, oversight, and public participation and involvement. As an important institution in the province, the Mpumalanga Provincial Legislature is the voice of the people and it remains the bedrock of representative democracy.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms BT Shongwe
Deputy Speaker
Ms VS Siwela

Ms Blessing Thandi Shongwe (ANC)
Deputy Speaker:
Ms Violet Sizani Siwela (ANC)
Mr Boy David Dube (ANC)
Mr Andrias Muzikayifani Gamede (ANC)
Mr Bosman Grobler (DA)
Mr Sikhumbuzo Eric Kholwane (ANC) (MEC)
Mr David Dabede Mabuza (ANC) (Premier)
Mr William Thulare Madileng (ANC)
Ms Norah Mahlangu-Mabena (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Sibusiso Innocent Malaza (ANC)
Ms Sasekani Manzini (ANC) (MEC)
Mr James Masango (DA) (Leader: DA)
Mr Gillion Pudumo Mashego (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Speedy Mashilo (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Makgabo Reginah Mhaule (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Johanne Musa Mkhatshwa (ANC) (Chief Whip)
Mr Fidel Mlombo (ANC)
Ms Refilwe Maria Mtshweni (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Jeaneth Lizzy Nghondzweni (ANC)
Ms Patricia Ngobeni (ANC)
Mr Petrus Simon Ngomana (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Micheal Collen Sedibe (EFF)
Ms Cynthia Gabsile Shabalala (ANC)
Ms Busisiwe Paulina Shiba (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Moloko Cecil Shilakwe (BRA)
Mr Vusumuzi Robert Shongwe (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Reasetja Jane Sithole (DA)
Mr Alfred Landwa Skhosana (EFF)
Mr Simon Piet Dollman Skhosana ka Mahlangu (ANC)
Mr Victor Vusumuzi Zibuthe Windvoël (ANC)
Mr Linda John Mwale
Mr Mbuso Mpika (Executive Manager: Financial Governance)
Communications Officers:
Ms Zamagambu Memela-Gamede (Senior Manager: Communication)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedClean AuditFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriationn/a296 627292 896251 405
Actual Expendituren/a295 621288 922250 877
Employee Compensationn/a129 156115 908102 873
Goods and Servicesn/a99 972130 420114 730
Capital Assetsn/a7 5004 7754 956
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a9 855-1 562
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a12-2 616
Posts Approvedn/a240234234
Posts Filledn/a196194176
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Osizweni Science Centre
Chartered Institute Of Government Finance, Audit & Risk Officers
The National School of Government
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd