Department: Social Development

Contact details

Physical: Provident House, University Drive, Mmabatho, 2735
Postal: Private Bag X6, Mmabatho, 2735
Tel: 018 388 1426
Fax: 086 243 7786


The mission of the North West Department of Social Development is to transform our society by building conscious and capable citizens through the provision of integrated social development services.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr H Galeng
Head of Department
Ms D Mothobi

Mr Hoffman Galeng
Head of Department:
Ms Dikeledi Mothobi
Mr Ephraim Legoale (Acting)
Chief Directors:
Mr Mziwabantu Gxaweni (Acting: Special Programmes)
Mr Kenneth Kgobe (Acting: Districts and Institutional Support Management)
Mr Modishe Malaka (Social Welfare Services)
Ms Masego Mekgwe (Acting: Specialist Social Services)
Mr Itumeleng Mogorosi (Corporate Services)
Mr Thabo Mosieleng (Institutional Capacity Building and Support for NPOs)
Mr Seitebaleng Dikole (Youth Development)
Mr Ezekiel Gaaname (Social Relief of Distress)
Ms Memorie Herholdt (Office of Status of Women and Office of the Rights of the Child)
Ms Dolly Itumeleng (Social Crime Prevention and Victim Empowerment Services)
Ms Temeng Koena (Child Care and Protection Services)
Mr Otsile Kole (Support Services)
Ms Merriam Legana (District Coordination - Bojanala Platinum District)
Mr Steve Louw (Risk Management)
Mr Philemon Maboe (Strategic Planning, Policy, Research, Monitoring and Evaluation)
Ms Eva Malaka (Partial Care and Early Childhood Development Services)
Ms Precious Maponya (Management Accounting)
Mr Smuts Matshe (Office of the Rights of People with Disabilities and Office of the Rights of Older Persons)
Mr Peggy Mhlongo-Kgaboesele (Special Needs)
Mr Gabriel Mmila (Acting: Information, Records and Knowledge Management)
Ms Mmadikeledi Mokgoro (Acting: Poverty Eradication Coordination)
Ms Dipuo Mokgoro-Ramosime (Poverty Alleviation and Sustainable Livelihoods)
Mr Aboleleng Mokgwasa (Human Capital Management)
Ms Tsholofelo Mosepidi (Acting: Financial Accounting)
Mr Thato Mosieleng (Partnership Development)
Ms Annatjie Nel (Acting: District Coordination – Dr Kenneth Kaunda District)
Ms Salome Nyokong (Population Policy Promotion)
Mr Hendrick Seitjie (HIV and AIDS Care and Support Services)
Mr Chris Seome (Legal Support Services)
Mr Morapediemang Setlhauno (District Coordination: Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati District)
Mr Petrus Siko (Media and Communication)
Ms Busiswa Sityi (District Coordination – Ngaka Modiri Molema District)
Ms Hessie Wiessie (Family Care and Support Services)
Communications Officers:

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedQualified
Total Final Appropriation1 318 6881 255 1271 059 467963 326
Actual Expenditure1 289 2651 218 4061 039 133922 173
Employee Compensation660 628644 089565 756484 092
Goods and Services289 996263 589226 556192 448
Capital Assets72 89646 09130 82040 936
Unauthorised Expenditure-257--
Irregular Expenditure15 59017 92041 01083 502
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure58831752449
Posts Approved2 6522 6862 4282 512
Posts Filled2 3592 1822 1002 030
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Osizweni Science Centre
International Pre-University College
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd
UKZN Extended Learning