Department: Agriculture

Contact details

Physical: Admin Building, Muldersvlei Road, Elsenburg
Postal: Private Bag X1, Elsenburg, 7607
Tel: 021 808 5111
Fax: 021 808 7605


The mission of the Western Cape Department of Agriculture is to unlock the full potential of agriculture to enhance the economic, ecological and social wealth of all the people of the Western Cape through encouraging sound stakeholder engagements; promoting the production of affordable, nutritious, safe and accessible food, fibre and agricultural products; ensuring sustainable management of natural resources; executing cutting-edge and relevant research and technology development; developing, retaining and attracting skills and human capital; providing a competent and professional extension support service; enhancing market access for the entire agricultural sector; contributing to alleviation of poverty and hunger; and ensuring transparent and effective governance.

The Department's strategic goals are: supporting the provincial agricultural sector in maintaining its export position by growing its value added; ensuring that a large percentage of all agricultural land reform projects in the province are successful; supporting the sector (farmers and industries) in increasing agricultural production (primary provincial commodities); optimising the sustainable utilisation of our natural resources through conservation methodologies to increase agricultural production; and increasing agricultural economic opportunities in selected rural areas based on socio-economic needs.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr A Winde
Head of Department
Ms J Isaacs

Mr Alan Winde (Minister)
Head of Department:
Ms Joyene Isaacs
Mr Floris Huysamer
Deputy Directors General:
Mr Darryl Jacobs
Chief Directors:
Dr Gininda Msiza (Veterinary Services)
Mr Marius Paulse (Structured Agricultural Education and Training)
Mr Mogale Sebopetsa (Acting: Farmer Support and Development)
Dr Ilse Trautmann (Research and Technology Development Services)
Ms Toni Xaba (Acting: Rural Development)
Ms Bongiswa Matoti (Agricultural Economic Services)
Mr Andre Roux (Sustainable Resource Management)
Senior Management:
Ms Vuyolwethu Njalo (Head Office: Ministry)
Communications Officers:
Ms Bronwynne Jooste (Media Liaison Officer)
Ms Giselle Terblanche (Assistant Director: Communication)
Ms Petro van Rhyn (Head: Communication)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditClean Audit
Total Final Appropriation773 688871 497616 141562 214
Actual Expenditure750 633855 436608 862555 633
Employee Compensation310 004281 900258 173243 081
Goods and Services140 264137 321127 437135 180
Capital Assets37 13232 68227 25917 401
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure-785251 573
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure204915059
Posts Approved9451 1811 0831 044
Posts Filled909914836855
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Public Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa
Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)