Department: Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Contact details

Physical: 8th Floor, 1 Dorp Street, Cape Town, 8000
Postal: Private Bag X9086, Cape Town, 8000
Tel: 021 483 8315
Fax: 021 483 3016


The mission of the Western Cape Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning is to promote a resilient, sustainable, quality and inclusive living environment in support of human well-being.

The Department's strategic goals are: sustaining the ecological and agricultural resource bases; sustainable and integrated urban and rural settlements; good governance, integrated management and increased economic opportunity through low-carbon development, resource efficiency and the biodiversity economy.

The Constitution provides that everyone has the right to an environment that is not harmful to their health or well-being; and to have the environment protected, for the benefit of present and future generations, through reasonable legislative and other measures that prevent pollution and ecological degradation; promote conservation; and secure ecologically sustainable development and use of natural resources while promoting justifiable economic and social development.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr A Bredell
Head of Department
Mr P van Zyl

Mr Anton Bredell (Minister)
Head of Department:
Mr Piet van Zyl
Mr Theo Gildenhuys (Chief Director: Management Support)
Chief Directors:
Mr Gottlieb Arendse (Environmental Quality)
Mr Anthony Barnes (Development Planning)
Mr Ayub Mohamed (Environmental Governance, Policy Coordination and Enforcement)
Ms Karen Shippey (Environmental Sustainability)
Mr Gavin Benjamin (Development Management – Region 3)
Mr Henri Fortuin (Development Management – Region 2)
Mr Johannes Fritz (Financial Management)
Mr Anwaar Gaffoor (Strategic and Operational Support)
Mr Gerhard Gerber (Development Facilitation)
Mr Eddie Hanekom (Waste Management)
Mr Paul Hardcastle (Planning and Policy Coordination)
Mr Goosain Isaacs (Climate Change)
Ms Helena Jacobs (Development Planning Intelligence and Research)
Ms Wilna Kloppers (Pollution and Chemicals Management)
Ms Marlene Laros (Biodiversity and Coastal Management)
Dr Joy Leaner (Air Quality Management)
Ms Charmaine Maré (Environmental Governance)
Mr Ronald Mukanya (Sustainability Management)
Mr Kobus Munro (Spatial Planning and Coastal Impact Management)
Dr Eshaam Palmer (Environmental Law Enforcement)
Mr Zaahir Toefy (Development Management – Region 1)
Communications Officers:
Mr James-Brent Styan (Media Liaison Officer)
Mr Rudolf van Jaarsveldt (Head: Communications)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation511 594486 459423 278377 209
Actual Expenditure502 648457 190412 478376 880
Employee Compensation174 737153 192142 862122 998
Goods and Services50 43344 20441 95236 587
Capital Assets6 4996 0474 0127 480
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure-1 3973 2541 087
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure1--1
Posts Approved429437391416
Posts Filled397369321318
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Public Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
International Pre-University College
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa
National Department of Transport
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd