Department: Education

Contact details

Physical: Steve Vukile Tshwete Education Complex, Zone 6, Zwelitsha
Postal: Private Bag X0032, Bhisho, 5605
Tel: 040 608 4200/8
Fax: 040 608 4040


The vision of the Eastern Cape Department of Education is to offer a quality education and training system that transforms schools into centres of community life and promotes shared moral values, good governance and sustainable development.

Its mission is to provide quality education for sustainable development by providing socially relevant and economically responsive programmes that address the human resource needs of the province and the country; enhancing the skills base for agrarian transformation, manufacturing diversification and tourism in order to meet the needs of the second economy; providing quality programmes to build the capacity of all employees; and encouraging participatory decision-making processes that strive to empower the whole community at all levels.

The following are the strategic goals of the Department: access to basic education, and equity in opportunity and educational achievement for all learners regardless of race, gender, disability, geographical location and socio-economic status; empowerment of all learners to become responsible citizens through equipping them with skills, knowledge and values; improved quality of teaching and learning at all educational institutions; improved institutional efficiency through enhanced management systems and integrated service delivery; economic, effective, efficient and equitable resourcing within the education system; and cohesive and sustainable communities built through cooperation with all stakeholders in education.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr M Makupula
Head of Department
Mr T Kojana

Mr Mandla Makupula
Head of Department:
Mr Themba Kojana (Superintendent General)
Chief of Staff:
Mr Nkosipendule Duntsula
Ms X Kese (Acting)
Deputy Directors General:
Mr Greg Macmaster (Acting: Branch – Education Planning, Evaluation and Monitoring [EPEM])
Mr Ray Tywakadi (Institutional Management)
Chief Directors:
Mr M Gaca (District Coordination, Monitoring and Support [Cluster A])
Mr M Harmse (Acting: Supply Chain Management)
Ms X Kese (Financial Management Services)
Mr Z Mnqanqeni (Infrastructure Planning)
Mr KE Ngaso (District Coordination, Monitoring and Support [Cluster C])
Mr M Tshibo (Acting: Human Resource Development and Management)
Senior Management:
Ms N Tezapi (Manager: District Support)
Communications Officers:
Mr Phila Ngqumba (Chief Director: Statutory Advisory and Protocol Services)
Mr Loyiso Pulumani (Departmental Spokesperson)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEQualifiedQualifiedQualifiedQualified
Total Final Appropriation36 904 07933 248 90327 548 31126 754 712
Actual Expenditure36 296 52232 778 48127 450 75226 220 593
Employee Compensation25 981 86724 126 76121 811 89221 072 936
Goods and Services4 143 9503 548 1861 731 7551 405 293
Capital Assets2 150 7491 010 6601 338 1871 037 900
Unauthorised Expenditure--62 786-
Irregular Expenditure265 48795 67770 0187 167
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure1 7274 4392 4786 695
Posts Approved81 04486 55490 03292 082
Posts Filled68 02673 65278 70372 717
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Osizweni Science Centre
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd
UKZN Extended Learning
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa