Department: Community Safety

Contact details

Physical: 64 Pritchard Street, Johannesburg, 2001
Postal: PO Box 62440, Marshalltown, 2170
Tel: 011 689 3925
Fax: 011 689 3602


The mission of the Gauteng Department of Community Safety is to improve public safety in the province, specifically through monitoring and evaluating the effectiveness and efficiency of policing agencies; effective implementation and promotion of appropriate social crime prevention initiatives; providing excellent traffic management services; coordination of efforts and programmes in the criminal justice system; educating and empowering citizens on issues of public safety and coordinating community safety initiatives; improving and strengthening relations between the police and communities; and determining community policing needs and priorities in keeping with the provisions of the Constitution.

The Department's strategic goals are to ensure excellent practices in order to deliver effectively on its mandate; improve service delivery through effective and efficient planning, monitoring and evaluation of organisational performance; provide good quality research and information; ensure continuous improvement in the quality of policing; strengthen community policing structures to improve relationships between communities and police; build and strengthen social movements against crime; mainstream and coordinate social crime prevention in all spheres of government; prevent violence against vulnerable groups; inform people about the work of the Department; and create a safe and secure road environment.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms S Nkosi-Malobane
Head of Department
Ms Y Makhasi

Ms Sizakele Nkosi-Malobane
Head of Department:
Ms Yoliswa Makhasi
Mr Vuyani Nobongoza
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Mr Thapelo Moiloa (Spokesperson)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation780 290692 265526 789436 798
Actual Expenditure714 728629 606494 904414 662
Employee Compensation396 289356 292319 775252 299
Goods and Services163 484192 911148 266125 956
Capital Assets79 06373 08122 55935 828
Unauthorised Expenditure--1 32021 764
Irregular Expenditure5 04340 1191 3252 267
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure3029046619
Posts Approved1 2731 2811 192122
Posts Filled1 1231 0961 01188
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
National Department of Transport
Motheo TVET College
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd
Gauteng Film Commission