Department: Social Development

Contact details

Physical: Thusanong Building, 11th Floor, 69 Commissioner Street, Johannesburg
Postal: Private Bag X35, Johannesburg, 2000
Tel: 011 355 7600 / 7656 / 227 0000
Fax: 011 355 7753


The vision of the Gauteng Department of Social Development is of a caring and self-reliant society. Its mission is to transform our society by building conscious and capable citizens through the provision of integrated social development services.

The Department's strategic outcome-orientated goals are to provide support to core business in rendering effective and efficient services; efficient and effective integrated developmental social welfare services to service recipients, focussing on children, the youth, the elderly, people with disabilities, and women; and efficient, effective anti-poverty community interventions, youth development and women empowerment services to beneficiaries, promoting sustainable livelihoods.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms N Mayathula-Khoza
Head of Department
Mrs W Tshabalala

Ms Nandi Mayathula-Khoza
Head of Department:
Mrs WR Tshabalala
Ms Desree Legwale
Deputy Directors General:
Ms AM Hartmann (Support Services)
Mr Onkemetse Kabasia (Welfare Services)
Chief Directors:
Mr Tebogo Itumeleng (Social Welfare and Specialised Social Services)
Adv Siphokazi Moleshe (Corporate Services)
Mr Rennie Nair (Strategic Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation)
Mr Bongani Ngomane (Regions and Institutions)
Ms Shirley Raman (NPOs, Partnership and Development Research)
Ms V Bajomo (Institutions)
Ms KL Jacobs (Regional Director: Sedibeng)
Ms N Kobeli (Regional Director: West Rand)
Mr V Languza (Legal Services)
Mr AM Manoto (Population Development)
Mr J Maphosa (Sustainable Livelihoods)
Ms P Maswanganye (Strategic Planning)
Ms K Mathebula (Special Needs and Families Care)
Dr S Mokoena (Research and Policy Coordination)
Mr KK Mosweu (Financial Accounting)
Ms LJ Motau (Regional Director: Tshwane)
Mr T Msimanga (NPO Partnership and Financing)
Ms N Mtimkhulu (Regional Director: Johannesburg)
Mr R Mudau (Management Services)
Ms P Nkosi (Regional Director: Ekurhuleni)
Ms LC Nonyane (Supply Chain Management)
Ms CL Ntsoane (Management Accounting)
Ms KC Ntwampe (Restorative Services and Services to Children)
Ms T Phatudi (ICT)
Mr MJ Radebe (Auxiliary Services)
Mr F Rammutla (Stakeholder Relations)
Ms R Raymond (HRM)
Ms N Reddy-Singh (Chief Risk Officer and Director: Risk Management and Compliance)
Mr W Sibisi (M&E)
Ms MM Thanjekwayo (Support Organisation (Social Care))
Ms JB Zondo (HIV/AIDS)
Communications Officers:
Mr Thebe Mohatle (Director: Communications)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditClean Audit
Total Final Appropriation4 001 1153 439 1802 921 4392 543 918
Actual Expenditure3 942 2663 409 2802 899 6832 524 726
Employee Compensation1 233 6011 018 431903 194782 298
Goods and Services440 772385 227340 251324 332
Capital Assets162 734135 45271 735130 487
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure---3 985
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure----
Posts Approved5 1084 4193 7674 711
Posts Filled4 1984 1903 5303 469
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
UKZN Extended Learning
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd
National Department of Transport