Department: Environment and Nature Conservation

Contact details

Physical: 90 Long Street, Kimberley, 8300
Postal: Private Bag X6120, Kimberley, 8301
Tel: 053 807 7300
Fax: 053 807 7328/67


The mission of the Northern Cape Department of Environment and Nature Conservation is to conserve and protect the natural environment for the benefit, enjoyment and welfare of present and future generations by integrating sustainable utilisation with socio-economic development.

The Department's strategic-orientated goals are: environmental quality and biodiversity management; socio-economic benefits and employment creation; cooperative governance and administration; environmental education; research; and compliance and enforcement.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms T Chotelo
Head of Department
Ms E Botes

Ms Tiny Chotelo
Head of Department:
Ms Elizabeth Botes
Ms Boipelo Mashobao
Mr Les Abrahams (Environmental Empowerment Services)
Mr Dewald Badenhorst (Biodiversity Management Services)
Bryan Fisher (Environmental Quality Management Services)
Ms T Lekwene (Acting Director: Compliance and Enforcement)
Mr Peter Mogotsi (Administrative Support Services)
K van der Westhuizen (Human Resource Management)
Mrs N van Olmen Phillips (Environmental Policy, Planning and Coordination)
Senior Management:
Mr G Pieterse (Head of Ministry)
Communications Officers:
Kholiwe Mlambo
Mr Lesego Pule (Media Liaison Officer)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedClean AuditClean AuditFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation134 515127 810117 644102 748
Actual Expenditure133 778127 895117 641102 739
Employee Compensation95 38184 19373 43537 305
Goods and Services35 07636 06232 61627 547
Capital Assets2 6976 88311 1556 610
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure97--1 177
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure12--4
Posts Approved580251271236
Posts Filled263239227220
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd
National Department of Transport
International Pre-University College
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa