Department: Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Contact details

Physical: 63 Fox Street, Johannesburg
Postal: Private Bag X86, Marshalltown, 2107
Tel: 011 355 4884


The mission of the Gauteng Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs is to coordinate the effective functioning of local government, promote integrated development planning, and deepen participatory democracy in order to accelerate service delivery.

The Department has adopted a set of values that are informed by the Batho Pele (People First) principles of the South African public service, and as an organisation its specific focus is on respect, integrity, responsibility, accountability and fairness.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr P Mashatile
Head of Department
Mr B Nkontwana

Mr Paul Mashatile
Head of Department:
Mr Brightboy Nkontwana
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Mr Motsamai Motlhaolwa (Spokesperson)
Ms Connie Muvunyi

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean Auditn/a
Total Final Appropriation406 935341 088313 385n/a
Actual Expenditure368 888283 461273 657n/a
Employee Compensation247 479222 104200 299n/a
Goods and Services69 07752 50566 581n/a
Capital Assets1 1701 8794 263n/a
Unauthorised Expenditure---n/a
Irregular Expenditure841 7506 497n/a
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure-25129n/a
Posts Approved842918899n/a
Posts Filled691673685n/a
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report
NoteThe Department: Local Government and Housing was, after March 2013, split into the Department: Human Settlements and the Department: Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs. The above figures and Annual Report are for the previously combined Department: Local Government and Housing.

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
National Department of Transport
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd
International Pre-University College
Osizweni Science Centre
UKZN Extended Learning