Department: Social Development

Contact details

Physical: Thusanong Building, 11th Floor, 69 Commissioner Street, Johannesburg
Postal: Private Bag X35, Johannesburg, 2000
Tel: 011 355 7600 / 7656 / 227 0000
Fax: 011 355 7753


The vision of the Gauteng Department of Social Development is of a caring and self-reliant society. Its mission is to transform our society by building conscious and capable citizens through the provision of integrated social development services.

The Department's strategic outcome-orientated goals are to provide: support to core business in rendering effective and efficient services; efficient and effective integrated developmental social welfare services to service recipients, focussing on children, the youth, older persons, persons with disabilities, and women; and efficient, effective anti-poverty community interventions, youth development and women empowerment services to beneficiaries promoting sustainable livelihoods.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms N Mayathula-Khoza
Head of Department
Mr M Mampuru

Ms Nandi Mayathula-Khoza
Head of Department:
Mr Makhukhu Mampuru
Ms Desree Legwale
Deputy Directors General:
Ms AM Hartmann (Support Services)
Mr Onkemetse Kabasia (Welfare Services)
Chief Directors:
Mr Tebogo Itumeleng (Social Welfare and Specialised Services)
Adv Siphokazi Moleshe (Corporate Services)
Mr T Nair (Strategic Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation)
Mr Bongani Ngomane (Regions and Institutions)
Ms Shirley Raman (NPOs Development and Support)
Ms V Bajomo (Institutions)
Ms Y Deonarain (Executive Support)
Ms KL Jacobs (Regional Director: Sedibeng)
Ms N Kobeli (Regional Director: West Rand)
Mr NV Languza (Legal Services)
Mr AM Manoto (Population Development)
Mr J Maphosa (Sustainable Livelihoods)
Ms P Maswanganye (Strategic Planning)
Ms K Mathebula (Special Needs and Families Care)
Ms Tebello Mkhonto (Substance Abuse, Social Crime Prevention and VEP)
Ms P Moabelo (Regional Director: Johannesburg South)
Dr S Mokoena (Research and Policy Coordination)
Mr KK Mosweu (Financial Accounting)
Ms LJ Motau (Regional Director: Tshwane)
Mr T Msimanga (NPO Partnership and Financing)
Ms N Mtimkhulu (Regional Director: Johannesburg North)
Mr R Mudau (Management Services)
Ms P Nkosi (Regional Director: Ekurhuleni)
Ms LC Nonyane (Supply Chain Management)
Ms CL Ntsoane (Management Accounting)
Ms KC Ntwampe (Restorative Services and Services to Children)
Ms T Phatudi (ICT)
Mr F Rammutla (Stakeholder Relations)
Ms R Raymond (HRM)
Ms N Reddy-Singh (Risk Management and Compliance)
Mr W Sibisi (M&E)
Ms MM Thanjekwayo-Ubane (Support Organisation [Social Care])
Ms LG Van Der Merwe (Gender, Youth and Disability Mainstreaming)
Ms JB Zondo (HIV/AIDS)
Communications Officers:
Mr Thebe Mohatle (Director: Communications)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditClean Audit
Total Final Appropriationn/a4 001 1153 439 1802 921 439
Actual Expendituren/a3 942 2663 409 2802 899 683
Employee Compensationn/a1 233 6011 018 431903 194
Goods and Servicesn/a440 772385 227340 251
Capital Assetsn/a162 734135 45271 735
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a---
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a---
Posts Approvedn/a5 1084 4193 767
Posts Filledn/a4 1984 1903 530
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
Osizweni Science Centre
Chartered Institute Of Government Finance, Audit & Risk Officers