Department: Rural Development and Agrarian Reform

Contact details

Physical: Dukumbana Building, Independence Avenue, Bhisho, 5605
Postal: Private Bag X0040, Independence Avenue, Bhisho, 5605
Tel: 043 642 3497
Fax: 040 635 0604


The mission of the Eastern Cape Department of Rural Development and Agrarian Reform is to strive to create vibrant, equitable, sustainable rural communities and food security for all.

The Department's strategic goals are: coherent and coordinated rural development for improved quality of life; and good governance and clean administration.

Office Bearers/Management

Mr M Qoboshiyane
Head of Department
Mr L Ngada

Mr Mlibo Qoboshiyane
Head of Department:
Mr LL Ngada
Chief of Staff:
Mr H Kwetana (MEC’s Office)
Ms N Tungata
Mr B Dayimani
Deputy Directors General:
Mr Leon Coetzee (Agriculture Development)
Ms ZB Makina (Administration)
Khunjulwa Manzi (Rural Development)
Chief Directors:
Mr MW Goqwana (Structured Agricultural Training)
Mr F Hobson (Entrepreneurial Development)
Ms Nokubonga Mabele (Corporate Services)
Mr Baphiwe Magwentshu (Strategy Development and Management)
Dr Lubabalo Mrwebi (Veterinary Services)
Mr HM Ntsabo (District Coordination)
Mr M Ramncwana (Infrastructure Development and Farmer Support)
Ms PN Tamba (Rural Development)
Senior Management:
Ms Zukiswa Pearl Guzana (Parliamentary Liaison Officer)
Mr Prince Madikizela (Senior Manager: MEC's Office)
Mr Sydney Masebeni (General Manager: Infrastructure Development and Farmer Support)
Nomakhaya Stemele (General Manager: Structured Agricultural Training)
Nokwanda Tungata (General Manager: Executive Support)
Communications Officers:
Fikile Black (Manager: Communication and Customer Care)
Ms Y Matsheketwa (Director: Communication and Customer Care)
Ayabulela Ngoqo (Media Liaison Officer)
Mr L Sanqela (Parliamentary Liaison Officer)
Mr Mvusiwekhaya Sicwetsha (MEC’s Spokesperson)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedQualified
Total Final Appropriation1 983 3811 872 8921 758 7741 680 653
Actual Expenditure1 968 0651 852 7681 731 2031 617 094
Employee Compensation1 055 8691 000 458959 588906 083
Goods and Services508 571455 345398 214392 888
Capital Assets154 342102 517123 886130 868
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure3444 95812 63829 384
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure605564468371
Posts Approved3 0723 3023 3003 472
Posts Filled2 9392 9443 0483 152
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Public Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
BMW South Africa (Pty) Ltd
Osizweni Science Centre
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd