Department: Provincial Treasury

Contact details

Physical: 3rd Floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town, 8000
Postal: Private Bag X9165, Cape Town, 8000
Tel: 021 483 4237
Fax: 021 483 3855


The vision of the Western Cape Provincial Treasury is good financial governance. Its mission is to improve governance through enhancing accountability and oversight; creating public value; enabling delivery of quality service through partnerships; and capacity building in public sector finance.

The Treasury’s strategic outcome-orientated goals are: efficient and effective departmental governance support services; effective, efficient and sustainable management of provincial and municipal fiscal resources; financial system, supply chain and moveable asset governance within the provincial and municipal spheres; and to embed good governance through financial management improvement and capacity building initiatives for departments, entities and municipalities.

Office Bearers/Management

Dr I Meyer
Head of Department
Mr Z Hoosain

Dr I Meyer (Minister)
Head of Department:
Mr Z Hoosain
Mr A Gildenhuys
Deputy Directors General:
Mr A Hardien (Governance and Asset Management)
Mr H Malila (Fiscal and Economic Services)
Chief Directors:
Ms J Gantana (Provincial Government Public Finance)
Ms M Korsten (Public Policy Services)
Mr I Smith (Asset Management)
Senior Management:
Communications Officers:
Mr E Steenkamp-Cairns

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002016/172015/162014/152013/14
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditClean Audit
Total Final Appropriationn/a341 347442 066345 321
Actual Expendituren/a240 387232 148199 967
Employee Compensationn/a148 038137 911125 299
Goods and Servicesn/a49 01955 25647 483
Capital Assetsn/a4 6303 6544 359
Unauthorised Expendituren/a---
Irregular Expendituren/a1442 0979
Fruitless & Wasteful Expendituren/a861
Posts Approvedn/a322328326
Posts Filledn/a316282282
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Public Entities

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
International Pre-University College
UKZN Extended Learning
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd
Chartered Institute Of Government Finance, Audit & Risk Officers