North West Department: Tourism

The North West Department of Tourism was merged into the North West Department of Economic Development, Environment, Conservation and Tourism after the 2019 General Elections. Information displayed here is historical information as the department existed before the merger.

Contact Details

Postal Private Bag X2099, Mmabatho, 2735
Physical NWDC Building, 1st Floor, Cnr Provident Street and University Drive, Mmabatho
Tel 018 388 2081
Fax 018 384 1026


The mission of the North West Department of Tourism is to lead and grow a dynamic, sustainable, diversified and vibrant tourism sector for the North West Province through: promoting partnerships and collaboration with all key stakeholders, in particular the private sector; promoting cultural and heritage tourism in the North West; strengthening institutional capacity; promoting good corporate and cooperative governance; branding and marketing of North West Province as a tourist destination; and creativity and innovation.

The Department’s strategic goals are: tourism product development in 19 townships and 56 villages; providing intervention in the village, township and small dorpies economies; increasing the economic profile of tourism; provincial bed capacity audit; the Bokone Bophirima Tourism Growth and Development Agency; the Bloemhof Dam tourism development; the Wentzel Dam tourism infrastructure upgrade; the Lotlamoreng Dam tourism infrastructure upgrade; the Taung Hotel School and Conference Centre; the Bojanala Eco-Tourism City; and A re yeng Bokone Bophirima.

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.