Provincial Legislature

Contact details

Physical: 41 Charlotte Maxeke Street, Bloemfontein, 9300
Postal: Private Bag X20561, Bloemfontein, 9300
Tel: 051 407 1100
Fax: 051 430 5187


The mission of the Free State Provincial Legislature is to be a modern institution of democracy that promotes good governance and a culture of human rights through public participation, lawmaking and oversight that is vigilant, dynamic, proactive and responsive.

The Legislature's strategic goals are: transformative lawmaking that contributes to the attainment of rights enshrined in the Constitution; enhancement of the quality of oversight and accountability of the performance of provincial organs of state and the mechanisms for their accountability; building an activist legislature by proactively maximising public education and participation, the timeous handling of petitions, and transparency in its processes; building an effective administration; improved support to political representatives by increasing the capacity of Members of the Legislature, as well as allocating resources to political parties through constituent, research and political party grants in an effort to promote practices of democracy; and the pursuit of fundamental social transformation and nation-building, gaining momentum with initiatives by the Speaker to establish women and children programmes.

Office Bearers/Management

Ms MG Qabathe
Deputy Speaker
Mr S Mbalo

Ms Motlagomang Grazy Qabathe (ANC)
Deputy Speaker:
Mr Sizwe Mbalo (ANC)
Mr Mojalefa Patrick Buti (ANC)
Ms Roy Jankielsohn (DA)
Mr David Edward Janse van Vuuren (DA)
Mr Motete Daniel Khoabane (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Leona Mary Kleynhans (DA)
Mr Butana Moses Komphela (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Dora Kotzee (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Nokwanje Selinah Leeto (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Lehlohonolo James Letuka (DA)
Mr Sekgobelo Elias Ace Magashule (ANC) (Premier)
Ms Limakatso Patricia Mahasa (ANC)
Mr Mandisa Makesini (EFF)
Mr Pule Herbert Isak Makgoe (ANC) (MEC)
Dr Benjamin Malakoane (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Lucy Nombulelo Mapena (ANC)
Mr Malambule Sam Mashinini (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Thabo Piet Meeko (ANC)
Ms M Mokotla (ANC)
Ms Malitaba Sarah Moleleki (ANC)
Mr K Morapela (EFF)
Ms Sefora Sisi Ntombela (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Kenalemang Phukuntsi (ANC)
Ms Mariette Pittaway (DA)
Mr T Ramokhoase (ANC)
Ms Elzabe Cornelia Rockman (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Cecilia Shirley Kediinametse Sechoaro (ANC)
Mr Cornelius Johannes van Rooyen (ANC) (Chief Whip)
Mr Wouter Wynand Wessels (FF+)
Adv Thabo Mokoena
Mr Q Hugo
Senior Management:
Mr L Mofokeng (Deputy Secretary)
Communications Officers:
Mr L Mokone (Chief Spokesperson)
Jongi Ndakana

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditClean AuditClean AuditFinancially Unqualified
Total Final Appropriation181 692205 326195 492205 885
Actual Expenditure208 139192 570182 853202 511
Employee Compensation100 15593 69581 30747 837
Goods and Services45 22945 53947 71450 775
Capital Assets1 7722 0472 57833 828
Unauthorised Expenditure----
Irregular Expenditure----
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure----
Posts Approved186186220145
Posts Filled136134118110
SourcesAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa
National Asphalt (Pty) Ltd
Osizweni Science Centre
International Pre-University College